与中国游客建立联系

适应或灭亡

难以置信的收入增长

波士顿咨询集团在其报告《通往王国的钥匙》中这样描述道:“我们的研究表明中国城镇居民的收入分配将在未来十年内明显上升。事实上,2010年至2020年,中国600多个城市的人均可分配收入将翻一倍。

”“到2020年,中国的城市中产阶级数量将翻一番,其中,较为富裕的中产阶级也将增长4倍。超过1.3亿城市家庭将生活于中产阶级水平(或中产阶级水平以上)。

”结论:在中国人民变得越来越富裕期间,我们正目睹着收入水平的大改革,而大部分中国人民也将真正迈入中产阶级的行列,他们将拥有足够的金钱来旅游和购买商品。

线上营销是与自由行游客和消费者建立联系的唯一渠道

波士顿咨询集团在其报告《通往王国的钥匙》中也这样描述道:“在2005年,如果一个公司需要与中国70个城市的中产阶级建立联系,起码需要成立70个不同地点的分公司。到2020年,与所有的中产阶级潜在消费者建立联系需要成立超过400个不同地点的分公司。

”换句话说:中国人民的收入增长是全国性的现象,并不是仅发生在1线和2线城市。这也为西方企业创造了无数商机,

然而,也只有个别大型企业可以通过传统的零售渠道和旅行社渠道与所有潜在消费者和游客建立联系。幸运的是,通过科学的线上营销,如今,中小型企业也能与所有潜在消费者和游客建立联系。

6.3亿中产阶级消费者

中国社会正在经历难以形容的巨大转变,这个转变过程归功于正在崛起的中国新一代中产阶级,这些新崛起的中产阶级数量将比美国全国人数还大。

事实上,2000年,仅仅4%的中国城市居民达到了中产阶级层次。但到2022年,将有6.3亿城镇居民达到中产阶级层次,即75%的城镇居民和45%的全国居民将达到中产阶级层次。

这样急剧的收入增长也导致了消费者的消费习惯越来越多元化,他们会选择越来越多的国际产品和国际品牌。同时,他们的消费倾向也越发独特化与个性化。

同样的消费趋势转变也正在境外旅游业展开,越来越多中国游客放弃了起初的低体验跟团游,进而选择更加个性化的自由行。

关于中产阶级消费者的一些基础事实

  • • 中国是世界上第二大数码相机消费国,仅次于美国之后,其数码相机消费数量超过日本、韩国和新加坡的总和。

  • • 中国是世界上最大的笔记本电脑消费国。

  • • 中国人越来越热衷于尝试全新的产品。例如,衣物柔顺剂在中国的销量在过去8年里以每年20%的速度增长,这甚至超过了德国的衣物柔顺剂销量。

  • • 消费者消费习惯也在快速转变。当1999年,星巴克在中国开启第一家门店时,大部分人都知道中国人没有喝咖啡的习惯。而如今,星巴克却在中国拥有超过1500家店面,店内总是有很多中国人在喝咖啡。

  • • 甚至黄油和起司这些曾经中国人很不熟悉和习惯的食材,如今也成为了中国人厨房内的常见食材了。

为什么中国游客很重要?

中国已有1.5亿出境游游客,并且,随着这些出境游游客的旅游方式的变化,如今再用“中国游客”来统称他们已毫无道理。

我们继续“惊叹”于那些分析和报告针对“新一代中国出境游游客”所提供的相关信息---一些毫无意义并且非常通用的描述,如:“60%的中国出境游游客在25至45岁之间,80%的中国出境游游客的年收入达到1万欧元或更高。” 的确是这样,也许现在告诉我们一些不是这么明显的事?

事实上,就像其余的中国消费者市场在过去15年的转变一样,中国旅游业也正在经历戏剧性的变化。我们给您的最好建议就是运营常识来判断,不要陷入以前的认知中无法自拔。

团体游客

中国游客是如何变得声名狼藉的?

中国的第一代游客被总结为对体验目的地文化没有太大的兴趣,因此,人们也通常用“上车睡觉,下车拍照”来描述他们。

这种旅游形式可以说是由于旅行社以前不愿意花精力去开发设计更有特色、体验度更高的旅游产品而导致的。

正是由于这样的旅游形式,中国游客也被普遍认为是二等游客。但是,如今随着中国经济的快速发展,中国游客也变得越来越见多识广。他们想要开拓视野,同时,也想要在没有一大群同行中国游客的情况下去深度体验目的地文化、艺术、历史以及美食。

东欧成为最受青睐的旅行目的地

同时,中国游客也彻底厌倦了国外目的地“赚中国人的钱,然后再摆脱他们。”的这种服务模式。一直以来,整个欧洲和西方世界的旅游服务提供商都忙于赚中国游客的钱,却没有为他们提供诚挚的欢迎和独特的文化体验。

 现在,越来越多的商铺、酒店,甚至国家都开始意识到需要将新一代中国游客与西方游客同等对待,视他们为一等游客。

这样的思维风潮也导致大批大批的中国游客前往东欧旅行,东欧不仅仅中国游客相对要少些,同时,价格公道、气氛和谐。

Statistics

旅游市场并没那么复杂

其实,事实非常简单和明确:如果您的业务是基于跟团游,那么,您将获得的便是较为低端的市场。

相反,若您的业务基于吸引想要获得高质量旅游体验的快速增长的自由行游客,那么,您将获得的便是越来越大自由行游客市场份额。

Shanghai Jungle致力于帮助中国自由行游客获得超乎想象的旅游体验,同时,也帮助国外旅游目的地城市、景点、酒店、商铺和饭店分享他们对中国自由行游客的承诺。

The new Chinese tourist is no different from the rest of us:
They crave authenticity and a great travel experience - and they are willing to pay for it, but not too much.
Our mission is to help them travel beyond expectations.

MEET THE CHINESE TOURIST

Adapt or die.

INCOMPREHENSIBLE INCOME GROWTH

In their report 'The Keys to the Kingdom' Boston Consulting Group concluded "Our findings indicate that the distribution of income for urban residents will shift significantly upward over the next ten years. Indeed, disposable income per capita is expected to double in nearly 600 locations in China from 2010 to 2020."

"By 2020 the size of China's urban middle class will likely have doubled and its affluent middle class (upper and lower) will have increased nearly four times over. More than 130 million urban households will be living at the middle-class level or above."

Bottom line: After a long period of Chinese becoming richer we are currently witnessing a transformation in income levels, where large parts of the population are shifting into the real middle class and have serious money to spend on consumer goods and travel.

ONLINE IS THE ONLY WAY TO REACH THE FITs & CONSUMERS

In 'The Keys to the Kingdom' Boston Consulting Group also notes: "In 2005 a company needed to be in approximately 70 locations if it wanted to reach 70% of China's Middle and Affluent Class Consumers. By 2020 serving these consumers will require a presence in over 400 locations."

In other words: Real income growth is taking place all over China and not just in the Tier 1 and Tier 2 cities. This creates endless new opportunities for Western companies - but realistically only a handful of them would ever be able to reach the potential tourists and consumers through traditional retail channels, travel agencies etc.

Luckily, with smart online marketing they are all within reach

630 MILLION MIDDLE CLASS CONSUMERS

China's society is transforming beyond all recognition - a process driven by the emergence of China's new urban middle class, whose size is larger now than the entire US population.

The facts: In 2000 only 4% Of urban households were middle class. In 2022 it is expected to reach 630 million - equaling 75% of urban households and 45% of the entire population.

Needless to say the increase in wealth has resulted in consumers becoming more and more accustomed to a variety of consumer goods and brands - and in the process also more sophisticated and individualized in their preferences.

The very same trends are now transforming the outbound tourism industry - from low-end low-quality group travel products to individualized solutions for FITs.

SOME FACTS ABOUT THE MIDDLE CLASS CONSUMERS

  • China is the second largest market for digital cameras in the world, second only to the US and buying more units than Japan, South Korea and Singapore combined.

  • China is the world's largest market for laptop computers.

  • Chinese are rapidly starting to use completely new products. For example, the sales of laundry softener has grown by 20% annually for the past 8 years and exceed sales in Germany.

  • Consumer habits are changing rapidly. In 1999 when Starbucks opened its first store in China everyone 'knew' Chinese did not drink coffee - it was too bitter. Today Starbucks has more than 1500 shops in China. Packed with Chinese…drinking coffee.

  • Even such products as butter, cheese and milk - which used to be completely alien to Chinese consumers - are now becoming regular items in Chinese kitchens.

WHY IT MATTERS

With 150 million international travelers and a rapid change in the way they travel it doesn’t make much sense to generalise information about ‘the Chinese tourist’. 

We continue to marvel at analysts and reports claiming to provide relevant information about the 'new Chinese tourist' - only to provide meaningsless and generic descriptions like: "60% are between 25 and 45 and 80% have an annual income of 10,000 euro or higher". Sure - maybe now tell us something that isn't completely obvious?

The fact is, that Chinese tourism is undergoing a dramatic change - just like the rest of the Chinese consumer market has been doing for the past 15 years, and the best advice is to apply common sense and to look forward without being stuck in past percentions.

GROUP TOURISM

How Chinese Tourists Got Their Bad Reputation

China’s 1st generation tourism was characterised by very little interest in experiencing the local culture, summarised by the Chinese phrase: 上车睡觉,下车拍照 ("On the buss: Sleep. Off the buss: Take photos”)

This form of travel was sustained by greedy tourist agencies who  preferred to keep business as usual and too uninventive to develop better quality products.

As a result of this approach to travelling Chinese tourists have generally been treated as second-rate tourists. But as China has become richer the Chinese are rapidly becoming more sophisticated. They want to broaden their horizon and increasingly they want to travel without being surrounded by hordes of other Chinese, and experience local culture, art, history and food.

EASTERN EUROPE BOOMING 

At the same time the Chinese are utterly tired of being bundled in a simple category of ‘let’s get their money and then get rid of them’. All over Western Europe service providers have been all too happy to take their money - without offering them a truly welcoming and unique experience.

More and more shops and hotels - and even countries - are starting to realise that the new Chinese tourist also expect to be treated like appreciated customers. 

These trends are also fuelling the recent boom in Chinese tourism to Eastern Europe, where they not only face fewer fellow Chinese tourists, but also a highly appreciative atmosphere and competitive prices. 

Statistics

IT’S  NOT SO COMPLICATED

The bottom line is really very simple: If you base your business on tourguide-led-group-tourism this is what you will get: The ever lower end of the market.

If you instead base it on attracting the quickly growing segment looking for quality experiences, that is what you will get.

At Shanghai Jungle we are committed to creating exceptional travel experiences for the new Chinese FITs - and to help the cities, attractions, hotels, shops and restaurants who share this commitment.

The new Chinese tourist is no different from the rest of us:
They crave authenticity and a great travel experience - and they are willing to pay for it, but not too much.
Our mission is to help them travel beyond expectations.