CHINAS ONLINE MARKT

Anders als Sie denken.

CHINAS ONLINE MARKT

Die Zahlen sind verblüffend: Seit 2004 ist die Zahl der Chinesen, die online sind, von 94 Millionen auf 720 Millionen im Jahr 2016 angestiegen. Das Ergebnis ist ein Durchbruch von 52%.
 
Angesichts der schnellen Integration von Online-Diensten in allen Lebensbereichen in China scheint es wahrscheinlich, dass China in den nächsten 10 Jahren fast das gleiche Niveau an Internetpräsenz erreichen wird wie die USA.
 
Aber vielleicht noch wichtiger als die Gesamtzahl der Internet-Nutzer, ist die Anzahl der Online-Konsumenten. Im Jahr 2010 erreichte China die gleiche Anzahl wie die USA - eindrucksvolle 140 Millionen. Im Jahr 2016 wird die Anzahl schätzungsweise auf erstaunliche 450 Millionen Online-Nutzer steigen - die gesamte Bevölkerung der Europäischen Union.

WeChat facts

ZENSUR

Im Westen ist es gängiges Wissen, dass..:

  • Die „große Firewall von China“ westliche Social Media-Plattformen und kritische Websites wie die New York Times blockiert.

  • Die chinesischen Überwachungsbeauftragten der Regierung, löschen und blockieren „problematische“ Artikel von Onlinemedien und Blogs in China.

Wenn Sie jedoch denken, dass durch dieses Kontrollsystem und starke Zensur die Diskussionen auf chinesischen Social Media-Plattformen unterdrückt werden, liegen Sie falsch. In Wahrheit sind Debatten auf chinesischen Websites erstaunlich direkt und ehrlich.

DENNOCH IST DIE FIREWALL VON BEDEUTUNG

Während die Firewall keineswegs das Wachstum des chinesischen Internets verlangsamt hat, bringt sie für ausländische Unternehmen, die auf dem chinesischen Onlinemarkt arbeiten, jedoch große Herausforderungen mit sich.
 
Die Firewall hat zwei Konsequenzen für Websites, die außerhalb von China gehostet werden. Erstens, diese Websites laden fast immer sehr langsam - teilweise unfassbar langsam. Zweitens, viele Websites laden überhaupt nicht. Dies ist nicht nur ein Problem für Newswebsites, sondern auch für andere Websites.
 
Es gibt eine einfache Lösung: Hosten Sie Ihre Website in China. Um dies zu tun müssen Sie eine sog. ICP-Genehmigung (Internet Content Protocol), von chinesischen Behörden, erhalten. Hierdurch werden die Behörden Sie als vertrauensvoll im Umgang mit chinesischen Websites und Servern einschätzen.
 
Falls Ihr Unternehmen/Organisation als legale Einheit in China operiert, können Sie sich direkt für das ICP bewerben, falls nicht können wir dies für Sie tun. 

Chinese firewall

The new Chinese tourist is no different from the rest of us:
They crave authenticity and a great travel experience - and they are willing to pay for it, but not too much.
Our mission is to help them travel beyond expectations.

CHINA’S ONLINE MARKET

Different than you think.

CHINA'S ONLINE MARKET

The numbers are mindboggling: Since 2004 the number of Chinese being online have grown from 94 million to 720 million in 2016. The result is an internet penetration of 52%.

And considering the rapid integration of online services in all aspects of life in China it appears likely that China will reach almost the same level of internet penetration as the USA within the next 10 years.

But perhaps even more important than the overall number of internet users is the number of online consumers. In 2010 China reached the same number as the USA - an impressive 140 million. In 2016 the number is set to reach a staggering 450 million online consumers - the entire population of the European Union.

WeChat facts

CENSORSHIP

In the West it is common knowledge that:

  • The 'Great Firewall of China' is blocking Western social media and critical websites such as the New York Times

  • The Chinese government watchdogs, delete and block 'problematic' stories from online media and blogs in China

But if you think this net of control and censorship has made the debate on Chinese social media more subdued than in the West you need to think again. In fact, the debate on Chinese websites is remarkably direct and honest. 

BUT THE GREAT FIREWALL MATTERS

While censorship has in no way slowed the growth of the internet in China the presence of the 'Great Firewall' poses real and growing challenges for foreign companies operating online in China.

The Great Firewall has two implications for websites hosted outside China. One is that they are almost always slow to load - sometimes incredibly slow. The second, and related, is that many websites cannot load at all. This is not just a problem for news websites etc. but for all kinds of websites.

There is only one solution, which is also straightforward: Getting your website hosted in China. To do so you must obtain a so-called ICP approval (Internet Content Protocol) from the Chinese authorities. By granting this the authorities deem you trustworthy of operating a site in China on a Chinese server. 

If your company/organization operates a legal entity in China you can apply for the ICP directly, and if not we can do this on your behalf. 

Chinese firewall

The new Chinese tourist is no different from the rest of us:
They crave authenticity and a great travel experience - and they are willing to pay for it, but not too much.
Our mission is to help them travel beyond expectations.